Skip to Main Page Content

Immigration Advising and Appointments

Home / Students / Appointments & Advising

Do you have questions about your immigration status, working in the U.S., or adjusting to the American culture?  We are here for you.

There are several ways you can communicate with an advisor: email ISSC@asu.edu, walk-in advising, scheduled phone or in-person appointments.

Email Advising

If you cannot find an answer on our website, please send an email to ISSC@asu.edu from your ASU email account.  One of our immigration advisors will get back to you in as little as 48 hours for most inquiries. Keep in mind that several of our processes, such as applying for employment authorization, are cyclical and may require additional time during peak season. 

Walk-in Advising

Walk-in advising is available at the Tempe, Downtown, Polytechnic and West campuses.  These appointments are first come, first served and sessions are limited to 10-15 minutes.

tempe campus

Tempe Campus 
Student Services Building (SSV), suite 170

1151 S. Forest Ave.
Tempe, AZ 85281

Walk-in advising hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday from 9 - 10:45 a.m., and 1 - 2:45 p.m.

ucent

Downtown Phoenix Campus
UCENT 130

411 N. Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Walk-in advising hours

Date

Time

Thursday, January 16, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Thursday, February 13, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Thursday, March 5, 2020

1 – 3:30p.m.

Thursday, March 19, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 2p.m.

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Thursday, April 9, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, April 21, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

west campus

West Campus
UCB 101

13590 N. 47th Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85306

Walk-in advising hours

Date

Time

Thursday, December 19, 2019

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Thursday, January 23, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 2p.m.

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 2p.m.

Thursday, February 20, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, March 3, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3:30p.m.

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 2p.m.

Thursday, April 2, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3:30p.m.

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3:30p.m.

Thursday, April 30, 2020

9:30 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3:30p.m.

polytechnic campus

Polytechnic Campus
Administration Building, room 150

5990 S Sterling Mall
Mesa, Arizona 85212

Walk-in advising hours

Date

Time

Thursday, December 12, 2019

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

9 – 10:30a.m. and 1:30 – 3p.m.

Thursday, January 30, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 2p.m.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1:30 – 2:30p.m.

Thursday, February 27, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1:30 – 3p.m.

Thursday, March 26, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Tuesday, April 7, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1:30 – 3p.m.

Thursday, April 23, 2020

9 – 11a.m. and 1 – 3p.m.

Scheduled Appointments

Appointments are recommended for more complex issues and are limited to 30 minutes. You can email (issc@asu.edu) or call the ISSC at 480-727-4776 to schedule an in-person or phone appointment. 

You should schedule an appointment for topics such as:

  • Change of current immigration status to F-1

  • Options when faced with violation of student immigration status, such as issues with under enrollment or enrollment for too many online courses allowed

  • Personal issues and cultural adjustment difficulties

  • Liaison assistance with other ASU Departments or colleges (Counseling Services, Student Advocacy and Assistance, Student Rights and Responsibilities or others)

  • Any situation where you believe more information or personal assistance is needed (i.e., Medical or Compassionate Withdrawal, Leave of Absence)

Phone appointments

When it's time for your appointment, simply call the ISSC at your scheduled appointment time and we will transfer your call to the immigration advisor scheduled.

If you need to reschedule or cancel your appointment, please be sure to call or email to let us know.